Creative Endeavors · Crochet

All the Things

Yes yes, I’ve been away for a while, and you’re about to find out why!

To kick things off, let’s talk about food. In an effort to eat more healthily and stop the weight gain that has been creeping on since last April, I’ve been busily creating meal plans for each week. This is week four, and after next week my significant other and I are planning to cycle back through what we’ve already done. The reason being: it’s a ton of work. Not only am I putting together the snacks and meals and everything, but I’m making sure it’s enough protein for both of us and not too many calories (though I’m more concerned about getting my fruits and veggies than staying under a certain number). I’ll post the meal plans here for anyone interested – once I get them refined a little bit more.

On that same train of thought – exercise. I’ll leave it short. Some days I do NOT want to get out of bed. And some days I am a ball full of energy. Exercising is, in part, my attempt to even this out so I have more normal energy levels all of the time. We’ll see how it goes.

And now to the good stuff!

20160213_102604

For Valentine’s Day, my darling dearest (I’m sappy, let it go) got me this lovely art kit. I am an artsy kind of gal, so of course it’s perfect! Now, I admit that I haven’t really used any of what’s in this before, but I’m excited to learn. I’ve started with the pastels and watercolors. The watercolors are giving me trouble, but I’ve never really learned how to paint (at least not more than a second-grader can). The pastels, however, are a lot of fun, and even though I’m not a great drawer, I feel like I am doing a great job for a beginner. Here are a couple of examples:

20160213_112114

The first: the view from my living room window when seated on the floor.

20160215_174840

The second: a random map of a random fantasy place. I like to make maps for the story ideas in my head.

I also recently received some steel crochet hooks, which means thread crochet! I have been super excited for the longest time about this, and after experimenting I am still excited! I have so many plans and ideas for this, you have no idea! The following is my first thread crochet piece. I took the picture while it was drying from blocking (which I admit, this was only my second time blocking, so if it is wonky that’s why!). It has since been removed and tucked away, but I finished a second piece today (of which I’m too lazy to go take a picture of – besides, it’s drying now).

20160216_103604

And I just got word that my boyfriend’s car died on his way home from class, which kind of brings up the stress, but never fear, we’ll figure it out. Everything will be fine and art will continue.

 

Leave a Reply

