Crochet

On Sewing and Sunshine

Well, needless to say these past couple of weeks have been rather dreary! I think we had one sunny day – Christmas actually, and the rest have been wet and rainy. I do like a good rain shower, but there comes a point where you just need sun. And so….

20151227_091540

This is my “sunshine pillow.” It’s a bit more abstract than I intended, but I’m mostly happy with how it turned out. It did, however, take a fair amount of sewing pieces together (which is why it took me so long to finish). I had all the pieces done in about a week and a half, but I HATE sewing crochet pieces together. I find it tedious and, to be honest, I’m not very good at it. (You can probably see the places that I struggled.)

So, I am going this same pillow but worked in fewer pieces. I’ll take a break for now, and keep working on my third blog project. Until then, let me give you some details about this pillow.

The center piece is a single piece and worked in the round. The sun rays are a sort of triangle/pyramid. The filling is all foam (my first time using foam in a project!). I like the way it holds the shape, but I would not use it for traditional pillows. I like the softness of stuffing. 🙂

I hope your day goes well and you make much progress on your projects!

Leave a Reply

